H. I. Battle Award


The H. I. Battle Award is given for the best student poster at the Annual Conference of the CSZ and is intended to encourage and acknowledge excellence in scientific research and communication by students.


Terms of reference


The Battle Award is given for the most outstanding student poster at the Annual Conference of the CSZ. The prize is intended to encourage and acknowledge excellence in scientific research and communication by students from all levels.


Cash prize (Currently $500) and a scroll.

Source of Prize

Funded through the Zoology Education Trust (ZET).

Frequency of Availability

One per year. The Society reserves the right not to make this award if either the quantity or quality of applications is deemed insufficient.


All candidates must be enrolled as students at the time of the competition, or have completed their degree within the past year. They must present work completed towards their degree program.

Application Procedures

To be included in the Helen I. Battle Award competition, the student must indicate their desire to be considered at the time of registration, and submit a .pdf version of the poster to the Second Vice-President no later than 2 weeks prior to the start of the Annual Conference, (according to instructions on the conference webpage) for a pre-conference judging phase.

The following are guidelines for the award.

  1. The award recipient will be selected by a committee of at least three judges, normally chaired by the Second Vice-President.
  2. Candidates will be judged both on the quality of scientific content, the poster and its presentation and knowledge of the subject area.
  3. The candidate must be the first author on the presentation and must be the person directly responsible for the majority of work presented on the poster.
  4. All students are eligible unless they fall under rule 5 below.
  5. The Helen Battle Award cannot be awarded to a previous recipient of the prize.
Application Deadline

Abstract submission is the same as that for the Annual Conference. The .pdf version of the poster is due to the Second Vice-President 2 weeks prior to the beginning of the Annual Conference.

Selection Procedures

Prior to the conference, a committee of judges will evaluate the scientific content of the submitted poster .pdfs and determine the finalists. The finalists will be notified by the Second Vice-President, normally 1 week prior to the start of the Annual Conference. During the poster session, the committee of judges will select the Prize recipient by consensus on the basis of scientific content and presentation of the poster. The committee can also choose to recognize additional posters for honourable mention. Posters not selected as finalist will be scheduled in regular sessions of the Annual Conference without mention of their participation in the Helen I. Battle Competition.

Other Conditions

These regulations shall be public and available to all competitors. A student may compete only once for either the W. S. Hoar Award or the H. I. Battle Award at each Annual Conference. A student who has won the H. I. Battle Award is no longer eligible for the competition.


  • 2017 – Jacqueline E. Lebenzon, Western University. Let’s break it down: Mitophagy as a mechanism for metabolic suppression during diapause in the Colorado potato beetle.
  • 2015 – Jonathon Lee, University of Calgary.
  • 2014 – Laura Ferguson, Western University.
  • 2013 – Matthew Stoyek, Dalhousie University.
  • 2012 – Allison King, Dalhousie University.
  • 2011 – Kristin Spong, Queen’s University.
  • 2010 – Catalina Reyes, University of British Columbia.
  • 2009 – Sharon Nelson, University of Guelph.
  • 2008 – Nirupa Varatharasan, Dalhousie University. Runner-up : Jeannie M. Parker, Mount Allison University.
  • 2007 – Peter M. Dimoulas, University of British Columbia.
  • 2006 – David Toews, University of British Columbia.
  • 2005 – Graham R. Scott, University of British Columbia.
  • 2004 – Alissa E. Moenting, Lakehead University. Edge versus area of risky patches: scaling habitat selection with habitat change.
  • 2003 – Ben Speers-Roesch, University of Guelph. Effect of hydrostatic pressure on routine oxygen uptake of bloater (Coregonus hoyi).
  • 2002 – Kee-Chan Ahn, University of Alberta. Increased possibility for interaction between serotonergic and nitrergic systems in regenerative neurite outgrowth.
  • 2001 – Daniel H. Ovakim, University of Waterloo. Analysis of the role of chromatin structure in the developmental regulation of Xenopus laevis small heat shock proteins.
  • 2000 – Jason Bystriansky, University of Guelph. Changes in amino acid metabolism of arctic char, Salvelinus alpinus, upon transfer to seawater.
  • 1999 – Sean G. Forrester. McGill University. Cloning and expression of a novel glutamate-gated chloride channel gene in the parasitic nematode Haemonchus contortus.
  • 1998 – Sheila J. Thornton, University of British Columbia. Phosphocreatine flux in a diving seal: evidence for hypometabolism.
  • 1997 – Margaret Voss, Syracuse University. Time and heat allocations during intermittent incubation by yellow-eyed juncos (Junco phaeonotus).
  • 1996 – Holly Shiels, Simon Fraser University. Influence of adrenaline, ryanodine and temperature on isolated ventricular trabeculae from rainbow trout (Oncorhynchus mykiss).
  • 1995 – S. Côté , Université Sherbrooke. Birth-sex ratio in Rocky Mountain goats: a preliminary report.
  • 1994 – M. Fuse, University of Toronto. FMRFamide-related peptides in the salivary gland of the locust (Locusta migratoria).
  • 1994 – K. Campbell, University of Manitoba. Nutritional ecology and bioenergetics of muskrats (Ondatra zibethicus).
  • 1993 – F. Mercure, University ofGuelph. Inhibitory effect of omega-3 polyunsaturated fatty acids on steroid production by pre-ovulatory ovarian follicles in the goldfish.
  • 1992 – J. Keiffer, Queen’s University. Scaling of muscle acid-base status and metabolites in rainbow trout before and after exhaustive exercise.
  • 1991 – G. Germain, Université deMontreal. A delayed potassium current in endodermal cells of the coelenterate, Renilla kollikeri.
  • 1990 – G. D. Funk, University of British Columbia. CNS coordination of wing-beat and respiration during ‘fictive’ flight.
  • 1989 – T. D. Singer, Guelph. Energy metabolism in primitive osteichthyes.
  • 1988 – N. D.
  • 1987 – G. Atkin, McGill. Anatomical relationships of sound-sensitive interneurons tuned to low and high frequencies in the cricket Teleogryllus oceanicus.