T. W. M. Cameron Outstanding Ph.D. Thesis Award


This is an annual award, established by the Canadian Society of Zoologists to recognize the author of an outstanding Ph. D. Thesis in Zoology submitted to a Canadian University.


Terms of Reference


This is an annual award, established by the Canadian Society of Zoologists to recognize the author of an outstanding Ph. D. Thesis in Zoology submitted to a Canadian University.


The recipient of the award will be invited to present a lecture on the subject of the dissertation to the annual conference. He/she will be presented with a commemorative scroll at the time. In order to facilitate attendance of the recipient at the meeting, reasonable expenses for air travel at minimum rates and all accommodation and meals at the meeting will be paid by the Society, up to a maximum of $1,500. When a recipient is located at a great distance from the site of the Annual General Meeting, it may be necessary to defer or waive the presentation or lecture. The Executive may consider applications by the recipient for increased expense reimbursement.

Source of Prize

Funded through ZET.

Frequency of Availability

Maximum of one per year. The award need not be made every year.

Nomination procedures

Nominations are to be made to the Chair of the Cameron Award Committee. For nomination, a thesis must have been accepted at a Canadian University within the period of July 1 of the year preceding the nomination deadline to June 30 of the year of the nomination deadline. Only one thesis may be nominated by a department, though more than one department in an university may nominate a thesis.

A nominated thesis should be accompanied by a joint letter from the Chair of the Department and the Supervisor indicating their reasons for the nomination. Theses should be saved in pdf format and emailed to the Chair of the Cameron Award (see below). Thesis files larger than 10 Mb should be sent by mail on a single CD or DVD to the Chair of the Cameron Award.

Application Deadline

15 August of each year.

Cameron Award Committee

The T.W.M. Cameron Outstanding Ph.D. Thesis Committee shall be composed of four members who shall be appointed, in alternating years, for a three-year term. The judges for the Cameron Award (the Committee) be comprised of one representative from each Section of the CSZ, nominated by the section chair, to serve a term of 3 years, and that these positions be filled as current members of the present committee retire from Sections not presently represented on the Committee, until each Section has representation. It shall ensure that the call for submission for Ph.D. theses is mailed to all Biology/Zoology Department Heads or Chairs in Canada and is included in The Society Bulletin.

It shall ensure that regulations are followed and shall judge all submitted theses. Its recommendation for the Award shall be submitted to the Secretary two weeks prior to the December Executive and Council Meeting.


Dr. Andreas Heyland
Summerlee Science Complex 
University of Guelph,
Guelph, Ontario, Canada
N1G 2W
Phone: 519-824-4120 ext. 58156
Email: aheyland@uoguelph.ca

T. W. M. Cameron


  • Born Glasgow April 29, 1894
  • Died January 2, 1980 Silver Springs, Maryland
  • Educated at Universities of Glasgow, Edinburgh, Oxford and London, and the Royal Veterinary College
  • Appointments at University of Edinburgh, Institute of Agricultural Parasitology London, London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine, and Royal Veterinary College
  • First Director of the Institute of Parasitology, Macdonald College, McGill University 1932-1964
  • Taught Department of Bacteriology and Immunology, McGill University to early 1970s
  • Co-editor Canadian Journal of Comparative Medicine
  • Editor, Canadian Journal of Zoology 1956-1971
  • Member, Fisheries Research Board of Canada 1954-1963
  • President, American Society of Parasitologists 1949
  • President, Royal Society of Canada 1957-1958
  • President, Canadian Society of Microbiologists 1960
  • President, World Federation of Parasitologists 1964-1970
  • Chairman, Canadian Committee of the International Biological Program 1967-1974
  • Research: Parasitology; five books


  • Founding member and President 1961-1962. Presidential address: "The changing past"
  • Honorary Member 1966
  • Honorary Life Member Parasitology Section 1978
  • Cameron Award renamed 1990


  • Royal Society of Canada Flavelle Medal 1957
  • Order of Canada 1972
  • DSc University of Edinburgh 1926
  • DSc University of British Columbia 1960
  • Dip. Hos. University of Venezuela 1961
  • Honorary Member Royal College of Veterinary Surgeons


  • Margolis, L. 1981 In Memoriam: Thomas Wright Moir Cameron (1894-1980). J. Parasitol. 67(1): 113-115
  • Margolis, L. 1991 Outstanding Ph.D. Thesis award named after CSZ founding president. CSZ Bull. 22(1): 6
  • Choquette, L.P.E. 1969 T. W. M. Cameron - An Appreciation. J. Fish. Res. Bd. Canada 26: 713-716