Congratulations to CSZ’s 2019 Major Awards Winners!

Fry Award Winner: Bob Shadwick

Boutillier Award Winner: Carol Bucking

​Cameron Award Winner: Tetsuto Miyashita

Dear CSZ members,I am delighted to announce the recipients of CSZ’s 2019 major awards, each of whom will give a plenary talk at the 2019 CSZ annual meeting in Windsor, ON, in May.

The F.E.J. Fry Medal recognising an outstanding contribution to zoology goes to Bob Shadwick from the University of British Columbia.

The R.G. Boutlilier New Investigator Award to an outstanding CSZ member within 7 years of their first academic appointment goes to Carol Bucking from York University.

The T.W.M. Cameron award, which recognises an outstanding Canadian PhD thesis in Zoology, goes to Tetsuto Miyashita, who did his PhD at the University of Alberta under the supervision of Rich Palmer.

Many thanks to the Recognition Committee (chaired by Colin Brauner) and the Cameron award Committee (chaired by Andreas Heyland) for their hard work in evaluating an exceptional slate of applications, and to everybody who took the time to nominate a colleague for recognition by the CSZ. Congratulations to the recipients of the awards – I especially look forward to these presentations at the CSZ 2019 annual meeting in Windsor, Ontario.

Brent Sinclair

President – Canadian Society of Zoologists